Be our Guest!

Since our friend, Mike, is driving to Ohio this weekend and staying in our newly decorated guest room, I thought I’d share it with you!

sneak peek!

First off, let me say that I am super embarrassed that we have lived in our house for nearly 5 years and did not have a proper guest room. Sad, but true. Most of the time visitors would have to sleep on the couch  or the lovely air mattress on the floor. The air mattress even tried to eat my sister-in-law. The nerve! Obviously, something had to be done.

Dumping ground

Dumping ground

My parents were nice enough to give us an old Queen size bed they weren’t using anymore. That was step one! But It really just became a place for Sammy to snooze.

Sammy's "nest"

A few weeks months later I was ready to transform Sam’s bedroom the guest room, and headed over to Kohl’s. I  picked up a cute sheet and comforter set in fun teal and green colors.

Then it was on to Target for the limey colored curtains and the glass ball curtain rod. I also picked up a cute little side table. The headboard we already owned.

Once I got home, I found a place for all of the misfit winter clothes that hadn’t been put away since May. I really need to do a better job of keeping up with things!

why put things away? We will need them soon enough...

Once everything that didn’t belong was out of the room I found I made up the bed and hung this starburst mirror on the wall.

I bought this gorgeous mirror to use in the little reading nook off of our bedroom, but haven’t gotten around to hanging it yet. I figured it was too cute to just be sitting in a closet and not being able to show off! When I’m done repainting the nook, I will either get something new for the guest room, or something new for the nook. Either way it will include shopping. Which is always a plus. 😉

I heart starburst mirrors!

Green goodness

I can tell your future in this thing!

I moved the old bedside table to the front of the bed to use as a TV stand. I filled it with some extra blankets.

A new little nightstand from Target for under $20 filled the empty spot. I added a lamp, clock and some fresh Hydrangeas from the front flower beds.

 

All put together!

Although I am super happy with the guest room’s progress, I think it’s far from finished. I want to definitely put some more artwork up. I also want to try to thrift an old chair and reupholster it with some fun and funky new fabric!

The closet needs some cleaning and organizing too…

Oh, and don’t feel bad for Sammy, he found a new place to sleep. 🙂

So there you have it! Our fun, inviting, spruced up guest room! Now we are just waiting for our guest.

Let the weekend begin!

Question for today:  Do you have any fun and exciting plans for this weekend??

My weekend is sure to include some time on the boat, some time by a bonfire and maybe even a little gambling!

Leave a Reply

